• July 2, 2009 / 

    larry-and-bonnie-hoffman-2019-2020Volunteers from all of our communities here in Newaygo County provide countless hours of service that help make the Dogwood Center the strong cultural resource that it is.  This past year alone over 50 community members have helped with fundraising, ticket sales, technical needs, as ushers and greeters……all of the components necessary in providing such a wonderful venue.

    The Don Heaven Volunteer of the Year Award is given annually to the volunteer whose service, dedication, and commitment embodies the Dogwood Center’s spirit.  This award is dedicated to Don Heaven, the consummate Dogwood volunteer.  Since the inception of the Dogwood Center, Don has worked tirelessly to make it not only a reality but also an excellent asset to Newaygo County.

    The Don Heaven Volunteer of the Year Award winners include:
    2019-2020 Larry and Bonnie Hoffman
    2018 – 2019  Rob Johnston
    2017 – 2018  Georgia Paxton
    2016 – 2017  Irene Baker
    2015 – 2016  Henrietta Van Meekeren
    2014 – 2015   Marcia Eib
    2013 – 2014   Julie Vanderboegh
    2012 – 2013   Sandy Saliers
    2011 – 2012   Shirley Hooker
    2010 – 2011   Tom Shoecraft
    2009 – 2010  Maxine McBride
    2007 – 2008  Sandy Cruzan
    2006 – 2007 Nevonda Lankhorst
    2005- 2006  Dwight Austin
    Pictured top: Dogwood volunteers Larry and Bonnie Hoffman
    Pictured bottom: Ragtime pianist Bob Milne and Dogwood volunteer Rob Johnston